Home
Subscribe
Help A Vegan
Latest News
Site Updates
Directory List Your Restaurant
Restaurants
Shopping Beauty
Gifts
T Shirts
Getting Started Why Vegan
Becoming A Vegan
Nutrition/Health Vegan Food Pyramid
Nutrition Guide
Raw Veganism
Who's Vegan? Vegan Athletes
Vegan Celebs'
Vegan Authors
Quotes Environmental
Vegan
Vegan Eats Vegan Food List
Vegan Cooking
Vegan Baking
My Faves
Site Information About Me
Disclaimer/Privacy
Contact Me
Sitemap
Advertising

[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Are Bagels Vegan?

I get the "are bagels vegan?" question quite a lot at BVG so here is my answer to all of you.

vegan bagels

A lot of bagels are suitable for vegans as the basic recipe is a bread dough consisting of flour, yeast, salt and water. Some are brushed with an egg wash or honey which would obviously make them unsuitable for vegans.

When buying from a supermarket instore bakery, they usually do not have the ingredients listed on the products but you can ask to see the ingredients which will usually be listed in a book they keep handy for customers.

Also, some bakeries do add egg to their bagel recipes but thankfully these are few and far between.


For me it is all about the Mono- and Diglycerides.

Mono- and Diglycerides are typically vegan but can be produced from animals. They are used to blend ingredients together such as oil and water. However, trying to find out whether a food items' Mono- and Diglycerides are plant based is very hard. I usually get a blank look.

I personally will buy bagels with this ingredient in but prefer to buy my bagels from the New York Bakery Co (which you can buy in most UK supermarkets). All but one of their bagel flavours are suitable for vegans and they have a handy ingredients list, with information at the bottom as to whether they are suitable for vegans or not. Only one product contains honey which is the Fruit N Oats flavour.

Of course a lot of bagels will also have sugar added as an ingredient and it is up to you whether you think sugar is vegan or not. My short answer is that most bagels should be suitable for vegans so long as they do not contain obvious ingredients such as honey or milk.









Take Me Home

Leave Are Bagles Vegan And Go To Becoming A Vegan

Leave Are Bagels Vegan And Go To What Do Vegans Eat





New! Your Vegan Discoveries

Eat Vegan On $4 A Day

USA

UK

Low carb diets for non veggies has been a popular diet choice for ages. Now we have a low carb diet plan for veggies and vegans.

USA

UK

vegan food delivery

Recommended E Books - Click Images For Further Info!!"

New!

vegetarian cooking ebooks

vegan ebooks

vegan recipe ebook


How I Created My Website With No Previous Experience You too can work from home writing about something you love

Listen to what Bill Clinton has to say about a vegan diet:



Sign up to my "occasional" vegan ezine

"The Laughing Cow".

Enter your E-mail Address Here


Enter your First Name (optional)


Then

Don't worry -- your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you The Laughing Cow.